Williamson County and the cities within its borders have animal control laws on the books to protect you, the public, and your pets. Failure to follow these laws can have devastating consequences.
By law, you, as a pet owner, are required to:
The State of Texas requires all dogs and cats in the state to be vaccinated by a licensed veterinarian. When off their owner's property, pets four months old and older must wear official rabies tags. Owners face fines of up to $500.00 for non-compliance.
Rabies is, will be, and has always been a serious health threat for pets and people in Texas. Rabies is fatal. The good news is, it's entirely preventable. Rabies vaccinations are essential protection for you, your pets, and everyone around you.
Williamson County requires registration licenses for all dogs and cats, four months and older. Pets must wear their registration tags when they are off their owner's property. Owners face fines of up to $500.00 for non-compliance.
Licenses can be purchased from most local veterinarians or the Humane Society of Williamson County. Registration for sterilized cats and dogs cost $5.00. For unaltered pets, it will cost $30.00.
The small annual fee you give for registering your animal pays off in a big way. It helps fund animal-related services like animal control departments, animal shelters, and low cost spay/neuter programs. Most importantly, a lost animal wearing a registration tag can be matched with and returned to its owner quickly.
ADDITIONAL ANIMAL CONTROL ORDINANCES
Most cities have additional laws designed to protect you and your pets. These can include the minimum length and maximum weight allowable for a tether/chain, the housing requirements for a pet, noise (barking) ordinances, and more. Please call your local animal control office, or read your city codes to familiarize yourself with the local laws.
PARK RULES ENFORCED BY EMERALD SECURITY GUARDS